Difference between Sleep and Hibernate on your PC

If you have a PC whether desktop or laptop, do you shut it down or sleep or hibernate? What is the difference?

Shut down:
When you shut down, you need to save your programs before closing them. The next time you need to use it you need to wait for the boot up process.

Sleep:
This mode will preserve your session. You can close your lid on a laptop and it will do this. On a desktop you can choose to sleep. When you come back everything will be the way you left it. Sleep is a low-power mode. The current state will be saved in RAM. The only power drawn is to keep RAM on. It will resume where you left off when you power back on.

Hibernate:
Hibernation mode works a little bit differently. It saves your computer’s state to the hard drive and shuts down completely. There will be no additional power drawn like sleep mode. When you power back up, the data it loaded to the disk will load back into RAM and resume where you stopped. It will take longer to resume to where you were but not as long as a regular boot up. Hibernate is the almost the same as shutting down but your work will be preserved without shutting it down.

Most laptops are set up to sleep when you close the lid. You can customize in your settings how long it be before it goes into sleep mode. In settings you can also set up your power button to put your computer into sleep mode. Laptops may be configured already to go into hibernation mode after so many hours in sleep mode.

Find out more.

The Victor crew

Last week to get your Windows 10 for free!

Well, it’s finally coming this week. After Friday, Windows 10 will cost you a mere $119.99 per machine. What you need to know is that you r should not use the Express settings. By skipping custom settings, you will be agreeing to data collection and tracking.

If you went ahead and did do express settings, you can change it. Go to Settings > Privacy > Speech, inking & typing. Click on the Stop Getting to Know Me button. You can actually go down the list under Privacy and turn off or on what you want.

Windows 10

Jody Crew

Did you know you may have a Facebook email address?

If you have a Facebook account, then you do have a Facebook email. The problem is, Facebook has disabled the inbox for this and redirects all your Facebook email to your main email account. The problem is, spammers can figure out your Facebook email address by finding your profile. Your email address is @facebook.com.

The good news is that you can disable the Facebook email address in your Facebook settings. Here’s how:

Computer:
Log into Facebook. Click on the little lock and choose the link on the bottom of the flyout that says “See More Settings”. Once there, click on General. Click on Edit next to Email. Uncheck the box that says “Use your Facebook email…” Click Save Changes. You will be asked for your password for verification.

For apps:
Android:
Log in to Facebook app. Click on the menu at the top. Scroll to Account Settings. Touch General. Touch Email. Uncheck “Use your Facebook Email.” Changes should be saved automatically.

iOS:
Log in to Facebook app. Click on More on bottom right. Scroll to settings. Touch General. Touch Email. Uncheck “Use your Facebook Email.” Changes should be saved automatically.

Jody Victor