For those of us waiting for a new iPad, last week Apple announced the new iPad. It wasn’t really given a name and it isn’t an iPad Air. It has a 9.7-inch Retina display with an A9 processor. It comes in just 2 sizes: 32GB and 128GB. (We really wanted a 64GB but had to get the 128GB.) It has iOS 10.3 and Touch ID. It comes in silver, gold, or space gray and costs $29 for the 32GB Wi-Fi model and $459 for the 32GB Wi-Fi + Cellular model. For the 128GB model it’s $100 more each respectively.
You’ve had your device for a while and it has all your favorite apps, your information, etc. What do you do? Well, if you haven’t already, you back it up to either iCloud or through iTunes.
To back up to iCloud, go into Settings then click on Backup and turn on iCloud Backup. Tap Back Up Now. You can see the information (how big your back up space is) if you look at Storage. You are only allowed 5GB of free space so if you need more, you will have to purchase it from Apple for about $0.99/month for 50GB.
The other alternative is to back up through iTunes. You will need to have a Mac or PC with iTunes running on it. Connect your device to your computer. You can still back it up this way to your iCloud or to your computer. Most likely you are doing it this way because of lack of iCloud space. Find out more here.
To restore a device from a backup, you must have all content erased from a device. Follow the onscreen setup until you reach Apps & Data screen and tap Restore from iCloud Backup or Restore from iTunes Backup. Sign in with your Apple ID if you are restoring from iCloud. Find out more here.
The Victor Crew
If you deleted something from a cloud service and wish you hadn’t, there could be hope! So you’ve uploaded files and synced them. But maybe you accidently removed something you didn’t mean to. You may still be able to recover them depending on the circumstances.
With Dropbox, the files are deleted but not moved from their location. They go hidden. If you go online to the folder containing the “deleted” file, you can unhide it. Click on the trash can icon to show deleted files. You can also right click and show deleted files. Once unhidden you can restore the files or permanently delete them.
When you delete a file it will go to trash. You can click on the trash icon and see the files sitting there. You can select, right click and restore them or delete forever. There are also links on top right instead of right click. You also can Empty trash.
Microsoft’s OneDrive moves the deleted files to the Recycle Bin (sound familiar?) You can restore files or delete forever from there.
We are not sure what happens to items when a folder is shared with someone and they delete an item. It may depend on who started the folder.