When you make your information “public”, it is open to everyone to see. This means all your information, timeline, photos, user id, username, profile pictures, etc. are open to the public. It can show up if someone does a search on Facebook or with a search engine on the Internet. This information is also accessible to games integrated with Facebook, applications and website you or your friends use. Others can share your information when they choose to make information public.
Information that is always publicly available:
- Profile Pictures and Cover Photos
- Username and User ID
Facebook uses your information in connection with the services and features they provide. They may be used to bring you advertisements relevant to you, use location features to tell you or your friends when there may be an event near by, data analysis for service improvement etc.
Facebook will not share your information unless they have your permission, have given you notice, or removed your name so you won’t be identified.
Data is stored as long as necessary to provide products and services.
You can deactivate your account and put it on hold. Others will not see your timeline anymore but your information is not deleted in case you want to reactivate your account. Your friends will still see you listed in their friends list while your account is deactivated.
When you delete your account, it is permanantly deleted. It takes about one month to delete an acoount but some information may be in backup logs for up to 90 days. Some of your posts to a group or messages to a friend remains even after you delete your account.
Jody suggests you use Facebook prudently.